Click Here To View Merit List 2021-22

Faculty of Science - Department of Chemistry [ About Department ]

The history of the Department of Chemistry at Shia P.G. College, Lucknow dates back to mid-nineteenth century. Over the years, a number of renowned and illustrious figures have been associated with the department as faculty and as students. Set up in 1947 with Dr. G.S. Sidhu, renowned Scientist and former DG, CSIR as the Head and with four faculty members. The department now has a faculty of 09. Since then it has always been fortunate in receiving good guidance and leadership. Dr. M. M. Husain also taught in the department and later on became Professor in the Department of Chemistry, University of Lucknow, Lucknow. Dr. T. N. Srivastava Lecturer in Chemistry, Shia Degree College, Lucknow later became Professor and Head in the Department of Chemistry, University of Lucknow, Lucknow. Mr. Adil Hasan Lecturer in the department elevated to the post of Principal, Shia P.G. College, Lucknow.

Respected Mr. J.P. Mathur, Dr. H.N. Mehrotra, Dr. S. Shakir Husain Rizvi, Dr. S.G. Abbas and Dr. Ishtiaq Ahmad also glorified the seat of the head of the Department of Chemistry. Department of Chemistry consists of 3 Labs, Lecture theatre, Preparation room, store room, fuming gas chamber, balance room, Lab assistant and lab bearer room, beside this staff room and H.O.D. room.

The Department offers three-year undergraduate courses in Chemistry. Class sizes are adequate to provide a good deal of faculty-student interaction and academic flexibility. The diverse qualifications of the faculty ensure expertise in all the traditional sub-disciplines of chemistry as well as in various interdisciplinary areas.

The department provides a nice intellectual environment for the curious and inventive youngsters. Faculty members are available as academic advisers and hold office hours for consultation about their courses; they are also willing to discuss chemistry, science, career opportunities, and even philosophy.

Research work of faculty members is recognized by publications in International and National journals and by awards. Interdisciplinary and collaborative research is a feature of the Department. The faculty and students take active participation in National and International conferences/workshops. A good number of visitors come to interact with the faculty/students and to give lectures. The faculty is engaged in collaborative research in the field of following areas:

The department has maintained good relationship with the alumni by keeping constant interaction and inviting them on various lectures, seminars and workshops.


The vision of Department of Chemistry, is to provide a platform of nationally and internationally recognized model of education to the students, and encourage them to compete in and contribute to chemical sciences for healthier living of all forms of life in the earth globally and locally.


  • Providing outstanding and quality teaching in chemistry to all students at all levels
  • to prepare students for professional careers in Chemistry.
  • to give students an understanding of fundamental principles and experimental techniques.
  • to prepare competitive and professional graduates within an innovative and intellectually stimulating environment.
  • To nurture creativity and innovations in thoughts and actions.
  • To promote and prepare students for competitive exams leading to entry into premier institutes.

Send your comments/feedback

Get In Touch

We are here to build you future at any cost.

  • Shia Post Graduate College,
    (Khadra, Daliganj) Sitapur Road,
    Lucknow-226020 (U.P.) INDIA

Student Say About Us